My Five Favourite Books of the Summer

Thanks to the pandemic, I have read 20 books this summer. So, while I am sad about the many things that I was not able to do (attend a family wedding on Vancouver Island, go on a cross-country roadtrip with my younger brother to see extended family that I haven’t seen for years, hang out with people in general, etc.), the upside was that I was able to read some of my new favourite books. Here are five mini-reviews of some of the standouts.

The Break by Katherena Vermette
This review comes with a huge trigger warning for sexual assault, but if you can handle the content it is 1000% worth it. This book follows multiple perspectives of several Metis characters who are all impacted in one way or another by a violent sexual assault that occurs late one night on “The Break”, a stretch of land outside one of their homes. The novel looks at the widespread and intergenerational impact that one traumatic experience can have, while highlighting the fact that these traumas have been inflicted on Indigenous folks in Canada for centuries, and are still occurring.

Monkey Beach by Eden Robinson
I absolutely loved this book. I filmed a full review here, but, long story short, this book follows two timelines, one as Lisamarie joins the search-and-rescue effort for her younger brother, Jimmy, and the other as Lisamarie reflects on her life leading up to the point that Jimmy goes missing. This is a rich story, steeped in Haisla mythology and culture, and impacted me deeply.

The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin
Ok, this one took me a minute to get into, but I attribute that to my auditory processing issues, particularly when it comes to a new high fantasy story. The audiobook was great, I just needed to amp up my focus for the first 10%-ish of the audiobook to figure out what was going on (I think it was a me-issue, not a book-issue). This is a high-fantasy story (the first in the series) set in a world where every fifth season (seasons can last for decades or centuries) is an apocalyptic event. It is fascinating and beautiful, and I cannot wait to get my hands on The Obelisk Gate.

Holes by Louis Sachar
This was a re-read for me, because I’m planning on kicking off the school year with a novel study. And guys, this holds up. It’s still so good. If you haven’t read this classic, please go pick it up. It’s a quick read – under 300 pages and aimed at grades 4-6, so it won’t take a lot of your time. But it’s worth every second.

Indigenous Relations: Insights, Tips, and Suggestions to Make Reconciliation a Reality by Bob Joseph
If you are a non-Indigenous Canadian, you need to read this book. You just have to. This is a non-fiction book that takes every stereotype and negative comment that I have heard people say about Indigenous people here in Canada, and breaks down why that stereotype is false, or the truth behind that aspect of different Indigenous cultures, or why there is a culture clash on different issues. And then Bob Joseph gives you a step-by-step framework, complete with questions to ask, things to watch out for, and things to research prior to working with Indigenous groups.

Leave a comment