not a slump….but…

I have a bit of a confession to make. I’m in a bit of a downturn. I know it’s just a phase, but my reading has significantly slowed down. And I kind of hate it.

I wouldn’t say that I’m in the middle of a reading “slump”. I’m still reading regularly. I’m still on track with my reading goal for the year. But I’m not getting through books very quickly, and I’m finding myself way more inclined to watch The Office or Grace and Frankie on Netflix when I have some spare time, rather than pick up my book. I don’t want to name any names, but I kind of blame The Name of the Wind. Don’t get me wrong; I loved the book, it was just really long in comparison to everything else I’ve been reading this year. I guess I lost my stamina somewhere along the way. It was almost twice as long as every other book I’ve finished in the past six months, and I just didn’t have the attention span to sit in one story for 600 pages (which isn’t even crazy long, I’m finding this kind of embarrassing to admit).

I’ve got several different projects for several different people going on – 2 different theatre projects, a speaking engagement I have to get ready for, and a secret project for myself that I was hoping to make a lot of headway in over the summer – and I guess the creative energy that I used to funnel into reading and blog posts has been siphoned off a little bit.

And you know what? All of this is ok. Am I reading at least 2 books a week? Nope. But that’s ok. Because I’m still reading. Am I posting 3 blog posts a week? Nope. But that’s ok. Because I’m still reviewing what I’m reading, and sharing my ideas. It’s just not as often as it was last month. I’m ok with that. Because I know that my reading will pick up again eventually. I just hope you’re all ok with that, too. (I mean, you’ll have to be…because that’s how it’s going to be for a little while. #sorrynotsorry)

Leave a Reply

