The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
Received: Library
Division 4 and up
Publication Date: March 27, 2007
Publisher: DAW Books
5 out of 5 stars

The Blurb:
Kote is but a humble innkeeper. He prides himself on the service that he provides to the locals, and he is perfectly content where he is. He does not desire to become Kvothe again. Hearing tales of legends is fascinating. Becoming one is anything but.

The Nitty-Gritty:
This was one of those books that gripped me straight from the start. I read the first page and thought, “Oh, I’m going to like this.” And like it I did. The magic and legends of the world that Patrick Rothfuss has created are fascinating. The world is so rich and steeped in tradition and storytelling, and the characters we meet are flawed and complex.

I have to admit, I was a little bit nervous when Kvothe started telling his story, because it felt like I was going to have to endure 600 pages of an obnoxious genius child who masters everything quickly and has the world handed to him. And there are moments where that is the case, but Kvothe grows and changes as a character and becomes so much more than that.

This book swept me away, and even though it was a big one, it ended too soon. I still have so many questions about Kvothe, and a week after finishing the book, I find myself thinking about the characters and the world.

The Verdict:

If you’re looking for a good escapist read that’ll sweep you up and suck you in, this is the book to do it.

2 thoughts on “The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Leave a Reply

