Favourite Reads of 2017 (So Far)

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by the Broke and the Bookish) focuses on your favourite reads of the first half of the year. I’m only including five because, while I’ve enjoyed a lot of the books I’ve read so far this year, there aren’t very many that have earned the title of “favourite”. Here we go:

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
This WWII book broke me in so many ways. So many ways. Full review here.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch
This sci-fi novel was a fascinating read, and kept on going in directions I didn’t expect while explaining itself in a way that I could understand. Full review here.

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
This was my first Morgan Matson read, and I’m very disappointed in myself that it took me this long to read one of her books. I’ve been missing out. Full review here.

And I Darken by Kiersten White
Gender-swapped Vlad the Impaler. Serious Lady Macbeth vibes. If you love a good anti-hero, check this one out. Full review here.

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace
I know that everyone’s been over the moon about Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, and these look similar. But The Princess Saves Herself in This One moved me in a way that Milk and Honey did not. I’m not a poet, and I haven’t interacted with enough poetry to feel like I can adequately review or critique a poetry book, so I won’t. But I will tell you that I thoroughly recommend The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace.

9 thoughts on “Favourite Reads of 2017 (So Far)

Leave a Reply

