Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Division 3 & 4
Received: Library
Publication Date: December 11, 2012
Publisher: Razorbill
2.5 out of 5 stars

The Blurb:
Magic is all but forgotten in the three kingdoms of Mytica. All three have lived in peace for centuries, unrest is brewing. Four teenagers from the three different kingdoms will each play a distinct, important role as the conflict comes to a head. Whose side are you on?

The Nitty-Gritty:
I had heard so many good things about this series from people who I really trust, so my expectations were pretty high going in. This, as it turns out, was a mistake. I was promised rich politics, morally grey characters, blindsiding betrayal, and fascinating magic. I expected strong worldbuilding and intriguing characters.

I got none of the above. The characters were neither intriguing nor morally fascinating. They were flat and whiny and obnoxious. The only characters that I wanted to hear more about were either killed off, or we only got to hear from them once or twice. I could see every “plot twist” coming from a mile away, because the foreshadowing was so heavy handed. The magic itself was so poorly explained that it wasn’t actually interesting to read about.

I really enjoyed, however, when we got to dive into the legends behind the religions of Mytica. The stories of the Watchers and the goddesses and the Kindred were intriguing, and that was why I ended up finishing the book – because I wanted to hear more about the two goddesses.

The Verdict:
Just judging from this first book in the series, I would suggest giving the Falling Kingdoms series a hard pass. There are so many other high fantasy YA series that are constructed so much better. This one wasn’t worth the reading time.

Have you read the rest of the Falling Kingdoms books? Do they get better? Should I give Rebel Spring a chance?

2 thoughts on “Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Leave a Reply

