Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start (but Totally Haven’t Yet)

I am the worst for just not starting series. Part of it is because my TBR is just so massive, and it’s ever-growing. Part of it is because I don’t possess a lot of patience, and I love to marathon series – so I’d much rather wait until all of the books are out in a series before I start reading it. And part of it is because I just find some series intimidating, or I’ve built them up in my head so much that I feel like I need to really dedicate my time to that series when I finally do start it.

If you haven’t already guessed it (or read a whole bunch of other posts on the same topic), this week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) is series that you haven’t started yet, even though you have every intention of reading them. Eventually.

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
I know. I love fantasy. And I love the movies. So why haven’t I read LOTR yet? This is a series that I’ve built it up so much in my head that I have kind of intimidated myself. What will I do if I read it and I don’t like it? Plus, since I’ve already watched the movies (a few times), I’m not worried about getting spoiled. So there’s no pressure to get them read.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
I’ve heard nothing but good things about this series, and I really want to start it. But the book is just so huge. It’s over 600 pages long, and I know that it’s one of those mixed media type of books, so it probably doesn’t actually read like a 600 page book, but that’s still a big investment of my time.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
Shame. Shame upon shame heaped on my shoulders. I even own these. They’re sitting on my bookshelf. Mocking me. It’s my goal to read these two this summer. At least the first one. I have to do it. I see so much beautiful fan art and quotes and…I just want to be a part of the conversation. I want to know what everyone’s talking about!

Blood of Gods and Royals by Eleanor King
This is a YA series focused on Alexander the Great and I want to read it SO BADLY but other things just keep taking my focus before I can actually get started on it. I’ll get there. I’ll get there.

The Beauchamp Family by Melissa de la Cruz
If this book series is anything like the TV show, it’s exactly the kind of witchy book I like, and I really want to get into this series. I’m hoping I’ll read the first one this October. Just when things are getting spooky.

The Wildwood Chronicles by Colin Meloy
This is a middle grade series that always caught my eye every time I was shelving books in the kids’ section at the library. The style of the illustrations is gorgeous, and it just seems like it’ll be a really good read.

Firebird by Claudia Gray
Not only does this series have some of the most gorgeous covers of any novel ever, the story covers multiple dimensions and you know your homegirl is a sucker for alternate universe type stories.

The Witchlands by Susan Dennard
Every time Regan from Peruse Project talks about this series, I get the worst FOMO. This is a series that I need. to. read.

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons
This series seems like the type of historical fiction that could be right up my alley. Why haven’t I started it yet? Because I keep forgetting that it exists. Whoops!

The Heir Chronicles by Cinda Williams Chima
I’ve heard so many good things about this author, and apparently The Warrior Heir is the place to start. Now I just need to do the starting thing. It’s that easy.

What series have you been procrastinating?

7 thoughts on “Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start (but Totally Haven’t Yet)

  1. Don’t feel too badly, I haven’t started the Truthwitch series either and I even own both of them. I read a couple of the De la Cruz books in that series and they were pretty good. I really liked that Lifetime series and wish it hadn’t ended. There is a spin-off YA series as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greg Hill

    Yeah Six of Crows is one of those where everyone is talking about it and it’s like, but wait, I haven’t read it yet. What about meeee lol? Seriously though I need to read those soon. The Witchlands too. and oh my gosh Illuminae- awesome series and I think they do read fast because of the format. The first one was good but I thought Gemina was totally awesome- one of my favorite SF books of ever.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

