Book Dads

Happy Father’s Day! Are you guys ready? Does it bother anyone else that people don’t seem to make as big of a deal out of Father’s Day? Not that Mother’s Day shouldn’t be a big deal, but dads are also super important. This year I get to take my dad to a football game, and I am so excited. My dad’s reaction? “You know you don’t have to do anything for me for Father’s Day, right? I’m excited to go, but Father’s Day isn’t really that big of a deal.” Well, Dad, you’re wrong. Father’s Day is a big deal. So here’s a list of some of my favourite literary dads. If you’d like to see other people’s Father’s Day-inspired lists, head over to The Broke and The Bookish.

Matthew Cuthbert from Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
Matthew just rolled with the punches, and loved Anne so much. Even though he was anticipating getting a boy to help do the work at Green Gables, he got the most dramatic orphan girl of all time, and he just quietly loved her.

Senator Walker from The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
I know that he starts off not winning any awards for Dad of the Year, but I grew to really love him as the summer progressed. I don’t want to spoil anything with specifics, but he was just really great.

Dr. Covey from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
I love that even though his wife died Dr. Covey does his best to keep the girls exposed to and invested in their Korean heritage. And he’s just doing a stellar job being a single parent. I love him so much.

Bob Cratchit from A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
If Bob’s investment in his giant family and positive attitude despite his super crappy job and the way that he loves Tiny Tim does not break your heart, you do not have one. Hate to break it to you.

Alex from Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks
Another Dad just rocking that single parent life. He’s such a kind soul and you can tell how deeply he loves his children. So great.

Mo from Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
Best. Bedtime Stories. Ever.

Uncle Alp from Heidi by Johanna Spyri
I know that Heidi’s grandfather seems gruff, but he really is just a big old softy on the inside. He’s such a sweetheart, and also lives in a perf little cottage on the side of a mountain. Living the dream life.

Little House in the Big Woods (Pa Ingalls)
Pa will forever be one of my favourite literary dads. And he’s so consistent about it, too. I don’t remember a single point throughout the entire Little House series where I thought Pa was being a pain. He’s protective, and strict when he needs to be, but he’s also so gentle with Mary and Laura.

 

9 thoughts on “Book Dads

  1. Pingback: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – Wrecked My Eyes Reading

Leave a Reply

