Contemporaries On My TBR

I don’t read a lot of contemporary fiction. I’m just more drawn to fantasy and historical fiction and science fiction…anything that’s not realistically set in the here and now. I think it’s because part of what I love about reading is being able to escape. So I’ve been making a more concerted effort to look for contemporary books. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday (a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish) is all about the contemporary books that I’ve recently added to my TBR shelf.

The Unlikelies by Carrie Firestone
This book is described as The Breakfast Club meets The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, and I’m excited for it. Also, the cover art is ice cream and popsicles. So we can’t really go wrong here.

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti
This is a mystery/missing persons novel, so I haven’t read too many reviews or synopses because I’m avoiding spoilers at all costs.

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
Rachel ends up working with her childhood crush in a book shop. Cute.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston
I am a sucker for a Cinderella retelling. Cinderella is my favourite fairytale/Disney film and I will love Cinderella until my dying breath.

The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone
This book looks right up my alley, and the only reason that I haven’t picked it up yet is because I know that most of the plot centres around a dying grandma. And I’m really not in a place to handle that right now. But once I’m a bit more emotionally stable and I can watch Moana without sobbing, I will be reading this.

The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash
This seems like it’s a super cute book, plus it looks like the bulk of the plot takes place at a comics convention. My nerd heart is ready.

One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus
The Breakfast Club but with murder.

The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares
Sasha and Ray’s parents were married and had a beach house. Now they’ve divorced, but neither will give up the beach house. So Sasha and Ray have both spent their summers sharing the same space, but they’ve never actually met before.

Ronit and Jamil by Pamela L. Laskin
Romeo and Juliet, reimagined in the middle of the Israel-Palestine conflict.

Little and Lion by Brandy Colbert
Suzette is so glad to be home from boarding school. She’s back with her friends and her family, and she can support her stepbrother who’s been diagnosed with bipolar disorder. But things take a turn when Suzette starts falling for the girl that her brother’s in love with, and now Lionel’s disorder is spiraling out of control.

7 thoughts on “Contemporaries On My TBR

Leave a Reply

