If You Liked: The Great Gatsby

Are you ready for my dirty little secret? I hated The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. #sorrynotsorry
I acknowledge and appreciate its cultural influence, its significance, the artistry of the prose…but 0/10 did not enjoy, will not read again. However, if you did enjoy The Great Gatsby, and you are looking for other books that invoke those same feelings, I do have some recommendations with you.

**I want to stress that this is not a list of books that I don’t like, nor is it a list of alternatives to The Great Gatsby. It is simply a list of books with either similar themes, writing styles, or characters to The Great Gatsby.**

Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns by John Green
Both of these books focus on enigmatic characters, who seem to be larger-than-life, local legends. The prose is grandiose and intellectual – John Green does not talk down to his readers. Both of these books are definitely more character and thematically driven, rather than focusing on the plot.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
If what you loved most about Gatsby was the glamour of it all – the aesthetic of those 1920’s ragers appeals to your soul – then this book is for you. The Cirque du Reves, the Midnight Dinners…the glamour in this book is fantastic, plus it’s mixed with actual magic.

A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams
What you loved about The Great Gatsby was the general disenchantment with life and wealth and social class, then Streetcar is for you. It’s a play script, not a novel, but it’s a fascinating read.

The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith
This book was essentially Gatsby with fewer parties and more deception…so…

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
Once again we get a selection of enigmatic characters, depression and disenchantment with life in general, and an outside observer narrating the story. Very similar vibe of Gatsby, but without the glamorous aspects.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s