Reading Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is things on your reading wishlist: things that you wish you could see a lot more of in books. I only have 5, not 10, but that’s ok. Let’s jump right in, shall we?

Platonic Relationships
I have a mighty need to read books aimed at readers over the age of 13 where the heroine finds herself along the way, and not in the arms of a boy. I have nothing against romantic relationships in books, but it is incredibly difficult to find a book with a female protagonist who doesn’t spend the majority of the novel either in a romantic relationship or aiming towards the romantic relationship in the finale. Unless the book is written for children.

Non-Coming-Out LGBTQ+ Stories
I feel like this is probably just something that I have not been made aware of, but I feel like whenever I read a book with a big focus on LGBTQ+ characters, it’s about them coming out of the closet. Which is great, but I’d like to read more stories where the sexual orientation of the characters is just another part of the story.

Positive Families
Something that I didn’t realise I was missing until I read the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before series by Jenny Han was stories with families who genuinely love and support each other. I feel like this is noticeably absent in adult fiction. Most of the adult books I read feature a remarkably dysfunctional family, or they’re completely absent.

Summer Camp
My summers were lived at my sleepaway camp. I want all of the camp stories, please!

Black Canadian Women Authors
I was listening to a radio interview the other day that was talking about the significant lack of novels being published by black Canadian women. Part of this, it said, was due to the popularity of spoken word among the community. Most of it, however, is because publishers claim that there “isn’t a market” for those books. So if you know of great books by black Canadian women, hook me up so I can create a market. (Not a market. Cue the biggest eyeroll of all time.)

Do you have any books to recommend that fulfill my reading wishlist? Please tell me!

19 thoughts on “Reading Wishlist

  1. Great list! Some off the top of my head (all adult lit):

    Platonic friendships: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See, The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchinson (really dark and disturbing book so approach with caution, but there’s a huge focus on female friendships), The Strays by Emily Bitto.

    Non coming out LGBT+: Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt, almost anything by Sarah Waters, Running by Cara Hoffman, The Vintner’s Luck by Elizabeth Knox.

    Positive families: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee, Exit West by Mohsin Hamid, Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. David Levithan is great for non-coming-out LGBTQ+ stories. His books are usually centered around LGBTQ+ issues other than coming out, which is really refreshing! It’s just like normal couple problems, which I feel like isn’t portrayed a lot

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! This is what I mean, the lives of LGBTQ+ people have more to them than just coming out, you know? When we only have coming out stories, I feel like it kind of negates the rest of their humanity. Like once they’ve had their “big coming out moment” (which, let’s be honest, is not ever just one moment), the rest of their story doesn’t really matter.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, it’s not that I have a problem with books that have single parent families, or families that are rude to each other, or what have you, it’s just that I haven’t read too many books that show a positive relationship between parents/kids/siblings.

    Like

  4. itsareaderslife

    Great list! I also want to see more LGBTQ. I know David Levithan is great at LGBTQ novels but I’ve only read a few so I want to get into some more of his books

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi! Great list 🙂 I’d love to read a good summer camp story! And since you asked…there is a book I could recommend that is all about a boy/girl friendship and their quest to reunite an 80s band 🙂 (It’s my book, Chasing Eveline, releasing July 11).
    My TTT
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I would love more books with platonic relationships! Love stories are great and all, but I don’t think that every book needs to have one.

    Oh, and family relationships! There seems to always be something wrong with the main character’s family, whether it’s a divorce or a dead parent or abusive parents or something else. Not that there’s anything wrong with a person because of any of these circumstances, but when you read one book that has supportive parents, like Lara Jean’s or Starr Carter’s, you realize what you’re missing in a lot of other books. It’s kind of like in anime or Disney movies, where there’s always a parent missing, usually the mother.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree! I’m working on my post for next Top Ten Tuesday and I was trying to come up with bookish mom’s I adore and realized I can’t name any aside from Mrs. Weasley from HP. I’m really close to my mom so not having this in books is kind of odd. I want positive relationships because many do have them.

    – Tina As Told by Tina

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

