My Book Buzzwords

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. If you’d like to read other Top Ten Tuesday posts, or find out how to participate, click here.

This week’s theme is things that will make you instantly want to read a book. What can someone say when describing or recommending a book that will make you instantly add it to your TBR? What’s something that you find irresistible in a book jacket? What’s your book weakness? I’ll share some of mine.

Magic
I am such a sucker for magic. Just, any kind of magic. Witches? Here for it. Fairies? Sign me up. Everyday magic? Lovin’ it. I will never grow tired of magic, nor will I ever be too old to read about it. I will always believe in magic.

Fairytales
In the same vein, I will never be too old for a good fairytale. Whether it’s a completely new fairytale, or a retelling of a tale as old as time (see what I did there?), I’m 100% always down for a fairytale.

Quests
I love me a good quest. I love it when the characters are on an adventure and the stakes are so high that the world will literally end if they fail. The stress of it is so wonderful.

Heists
On the other hand, I also love a good heist story. I love the planning that goes into a heist, I love the rebelliousness of it all, I love how anxious I get waiting to see whether or not they’ll get caught.

Roadtrips
I love roadtrips in general. So many of my summers were spent driving across the country to visit various relatives, and I quickly learned that there were many adventures to be had in the car and along the way to the destination, not just at the destination. I love reading a well-written roadtrip story. I wholeheartedly love the cliched “but the real treasure was the memories they made along the way”.

Pirates
I grew up on Peter Pan and Captain Hook. The first Pirates of the Caribbean came out when I was about 12 years old. I even spent one summer at camp dressing up as a pirate and terrorizing small children with my dastardly schemes. Pirates are so much fun, because you never quite know what to expect. Are they going to be honourable, for once? Are they going to double cross each other because it’s more fun that way? Who knows?! Not me!

Ragtag Groups of Misfits
The unlikely group of friends band together and… fill in the blank. I’m here for it.

Shakespeare
Any kind of Shakespeare retelling will instantly go into my TBR. Bonus points if it’s gender-bent or race-bent.

Witches
Not, like, Harry Potter witches. Or Macbeth witches. I mean modern-day witches. Witches that reside in a small town on the East Coast of the United States. Witches that teach at university. Witches that aren’t scary, they’re just a little odd. They dress in flowing, hippy-styled clothes, they grow a lot of different plants and herbs in their gardens, they’re definitely doing something weird if there’s a full moon. But they don’t fly on broomsticks. That’s just a stereotype. Come on, pull it together.

The Multiverse
I know that this kind of comes out of left field, considering the rest of the list, but I’m a total sucker for the multiverse. I like science fiction, and I’ll happily watch film and TV about the space-side of science fiction, but I don’t read a lot of space books. But write a book featuring theories about multiple universes, or rampant technology, I’m all in.

Leave a Reply

