Top Ten Unique Books

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. If you’d like to read other Top Ten Tuesday posts, or find out how to participate, click here.

This week’s theme is unique books. What makes a book unique and not, well, weird? I mean, for me, when I’m reading a book and the thought crosses my mind, “Well this is different, but I like it,” the book is unique. When I’m thinking, “Well this is different, I’m not sure I’m feeling it,” we’re in the realm of just odd. So here goes: the most unique books I’ve read:

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
This was the first novel I ever read that was a generational story. It read more like a collection of short stories, and the narrative arc was unconventional. I really appreciated the way the stories wove in and out of each other, and what connected the stories was the simple fact that these people were all part of the same extended family. Nothing more, nothing less. You can read my full review here.

The Moorchild by Eloise Jarvis McGraw
This was the first book I ever read with a really unlikable protagonist. I was 9 or 10 years old, and I loved the fact that while I was rooting for her, I really didn’t like Moql.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
If you’ve ever read this series, you’ll know what I’m talking about. This series goes to places I never would have thought a story would go, and it all felt so possible.

On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher
The concept of this book drew me in, and the way that she has incorporated magic into her story was so different. It was like because Evie was a magical person, magic would just naturally make its way into her life. The rest of the world she lived in was not magical, but her world was. And that was as much explanation as was needed. You can read my full review here.

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
This book took one of my secret “What If” fantasies and realised it, and I was immediately fascinated. What if people weren’t speaking figuratively when they said that someone reads so beautifully that they bring the story to life?

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
With this story, Patrick Ness decided to tell the story of the side characters in a chosen one story. Not even the tertiary characters (think: Justin Finch Fletchley and Hannah Abbot in Harry Potter), but the characters that have to exist because the story takes place in a full culture, but you never hear anything about them. And he does it real justice. You can read my full review here.

Audrey by Dan Bar-el
This is written as a transcript of the interviews of the different creatures who witnessed Audrey (the cow’s) escape from the farm. Hilarious. 10/10 would recommend.

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
Are there any other fantasy stories about refugees/displaced people? If there are, let me know, because I found the politics in this story fascinating.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman
The annotations in this book are so hilarious. It’s just so so good.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
I fell in love with the circus. I have never been so completely drawn into a setting before in my life. The aesthetic that this story creates is so incredibly strong.

Do you have any unique book recommendations?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Unique Books

Leave a Reply

