My Ten Favourite Books I’ve Read In One Sitting

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can click through the link if you want to find out how to participate, or if you would like to read more Top Ten Tuesday posts.

This week, I’m sharing the books that I couldn’t help but read in one sitting (or I definitely would have read in one sitting if things like going to class hadn’t gotten in the way). In order for me to become so engrossed in a story that I finish it all in one go, there are a couple factors that need to be in place. First, it can’t be a dense read. It can’t be a book that requires me to think a lot about what the author is saying, or what’s really going on. Secondly, the plot needs to be extremely engaging. Things need to be happening left, right, and centre, and bonus points if every single chapter ends with some sort of cliffhanger (Mockingjay, I’m looking at you). And third, it needs to be entertaining. This can mean several different things. It could be a lovely story, or it could be hilarious, it could be full of betrayal…the point is that the book needs to entertain me, if I’m putting too much effort in, I won’t be finishing the book in one go.

So here they are, my top ten favourite books that I couldn’t help but read in one sitting:

The Lauren Holbrook Trilogy by Erynn Mangum
This is Christian chick-lit at its finest. Miss Match, the first book in the trilogy, is a very loose reimagining of Emma by Jane Austen. This is a fluffy read, filled with ridiculous mishaps and delightfully quirky characters. As someone who grew up in the church, it didn’t feel super preachy. I felt like the amount of Bible stuff that was included was very normal for a group of characters who go to church every Sunday. It’s a part of their life, much like hockey is a part of most Canadian’s lives. If it bothers you to read people having conversations about God and the Bible and the Christian church, you’ve been warned.

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
loved this book. This world sucked me in, and I’d never read a book that was about a people in exile. This is a story about refugees and their quest to be reunited with their homeland, and it was fascinating.

The Wicked Will Rise & Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige
Although the first book in the series, Dorothy Must Die, was an entertaining read, it was just far too long and took a bit too much time to take off for me to even think about finishing it in one go. But The Wicked Will Rise and Yellow Brick War were perfectly paced to take in in one sitting. If you like Oz, but you haven’t given this series a try yet, what are you doing? Also, The End of Oz is being published soon, so you still have time to catch up on the series before it comes out.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
If you watched my Beauty and the Beast tag, then you know that I loved Mockingjay so much more than The Hunger Games and Catching Fire. I felt like it was such a fascinating end to the series, and it really balanced out the series as a whole. This was a book that I ended up finishing at about 4 in the morning, because every time I decided I was stopping at the end of the chapter, I just had to know what happened next.  I will fall for a well-placed cliffhanger every time.

Cress by Marissa Meyer
I think Cress may have been the best book in the Lunar Chronicles. In Cinder, not enough of the overarching plot had developed, and the world hadn’t been sufficiently built yet. In Scarlet, we were introduced to a completely new cast of characters, and it felt a little jarring. But then we had Cress. And we’d already met Thorne, and we’d been introduced to Cress. We knew a lot of what was going on as far as the series’ plot was concerned. And it ended with a heist. What more could you ask for? Nothing, I tell you. Nothing.

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
I know that for a lot of readers on the interwebs, the first young lady assassin they ever read about was Celaena Sardothien. It was not so for me. I was introduced to this terrifying convent where girls were trained to be the handmaidens of death, and it. was. glorious.

Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham
This was such a quick, lovely read. I’ve already written a full review, but just know that this reads like having a conversation with Lorelai Gilmore. Fast paced, filled with pop culture references, you don’t really know what just happened, but you’re pretty sure you enjoyed every last minute of it.

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
I picked up this book while I was on a camping trip a couple of summers ago and I could not put it down. I literally sat there and read it cover to cover. I didn’t go for a walk, I didn’t go to the beach, I did not leave my chair until I finished the book. It was such a fascinating read. I absolutely loved it.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
This book enveloped me. I’ve already written a full review, and this book still holds a place in my heart. The romance, the magic, the curse…it was all so beautifully written and wonderfully paced.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman
I was introduced to the movie as a kid, unaware that the book that the grandfather is reading to his sick grandson is an actual book. And then I discovered the book. And it’s everything you could ever want it to be and more.

10 thoughts on “My Ten Favourite Books I’ve Read In One Sitting

    1. Thanks! The Princess Bride is one of those weird situations where most people know about the movie but are completely unaware of the book. I like to point to the book every once in a while to try and get it some of the attention it deserves.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Shoto

    I marathon-ed The Lunar Chronicles and Cress was my favourite of the series! It was so fun and Thorne is so great ❤
    I also loved Mockingjay – it got a ton of negative reviews but I was personally satisfied with it. But ugh the cliffhangers after each chapter! Just couldn't stop reading at the end of a chapter!
    I really want to read Lauren Graham's book. Lorelai is my favourite character from Gilmore Girls and Lauren Graham is so much like her in real life too! Queen of the Tearling has been collecting dust on my shelf for more than a year now – should probably get to reading it sometime 😛

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Shoto

        Catching Fire is probably still my favourite though 🙂 I liked how things were wrapped up in MJ though it was a lot darker than the first two books.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

