If You Liked: The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

A magical pair of pants that fits four best friends, all very differently shaped. It keeps them bonded together over their first summers apart. A ridiculous concept? Yes. A wonderful series that touches your soul in ways you didn’t think were possible in books about jeans? Yes. If you liked The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, here are some other books you should check out.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
A Cinderella retelling that is so much more than the film adaptation with Anne Hathaway (a classic on a level all its own). Although it is aimed at a younger audience, Ella’s spunk and determination will appeal to fans of Carmen and Tibby.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling
Bubbly and sarcastic, this memoir has a very similar tone to The Mindy Project (which no one should find surprising). All things are teaken seriously – in the least serious way possible. Honestly, you’ll just have to read it to understand what I mean.

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Lara Jean is a bubbly introvert who loves antiques and the vintage aesthetic. She definitely has a gorgeous instagram account, probably dedicated to her perfect study notes (have you seen some of these study-accounts? I never thought I’d be jealous of someone’s organic chemistry lecture notes!). If you were a Lena fan while reading about the sisterhood, you’ll love Lara Jean.

Nowhere but Here by Katie McGarry
If you loved The Sisterhood, but you’re craving something with a little more bite and a lot more brotherhood, this series about a motorcycle gang in the south might be right up your alley.

The Land of 10,000 Madonnas by Kate Hattemer
If you loved traveling with Bridget to soccer camp and then on her archaeological dig in Turkey, or following Lena to Greece, you’ll love travelling with this pack of misfits across Europe. And then you’ll definitely be looking up cheap flights across the pond.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s