Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Div 4 and up
Received: Library (Audiobook)
Publication Date: October 17, 2011
Publisher: Tor Teen
4.5 out of 5 stars

The Blurb:
Cas hunts ghosts for a living. His father did it, and when his father died, Cas picked up the knife and began ghost hunting himself. When Cas hears about Anna Dressed In Blood, a ghost in Thunder Bay that kills anyone unfortunate enough to go into her abandoned house, he follows the story, like he has already done dozens of times before.
But Anna is different. Thunder Bay is different. Anna is much harder to kill than Cas had anticipated. And for whatever reason, Cas is having a much harder time than usual keeping other people out of his business, and out of his way.

The Nitty-Gritty:
I don’t know why I wasn’t prepared for a horror book. I thought it was going to be a cute kind of creepy. Dark, and spooky, but I was not ready for actually scary and actually gory. But this book was both of those things. I had never read a horror book before, so this was a brand new experience for me.

I have to say, I’m glad that I got the audiobook of this (although the narrator did grate on my nerves a little bit), because there were parts that I’m not sure I could have pushed past if I was physically reading this book. Anna literally rips her victims apart, and part of the fear that surrounds her is the grotesque nature of both her own murder and the murders that she carries out. And it was disgusting. I literally gagged while listening.

That being said, I was fascinated by this story. The mystery that surrounded Anna, as well as the mystery surrounding what really happened with Cas’ father, was very intriguing, and ultimately what compelled me to keep listening. Even though I physically threw my phone across the room at moments. Seriously, guys, this was one disgusting book.

The Verdict:
This was a great horror book. It kept my heart pumping, it thoroughly disgusted me, and it kept me wanting more. If you know that you’re squeamish, however, I might give this one a hard pass. Trust me.

7 thoughts on “Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake

  1. I loved the book – had some ‘Buffy’ nostalgia in there for me. I wish Stephenie Meyer would get her a into g and finish the movie already, I’d love to see Anna on the big screen. Thanks for sharing & happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Pleasant Surprises – Wrecked My Eyes Reading

  3. Pingback: Great Halloween Reads – Wrecked My Eyes Reading

Leave a Reply

