Top Ten Favourite Picture Books

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Click through the link if you’d like to find out more about the meme, or if you would like to read other people’s Top Ten Tuesday posts. This week’s theme is graphics related. Some people are talking about their favourite graphic novels, or graphic novels that they are looking forward to reading. I will not be talking about graphic novels.

I think that graphic novels are great, and I fully support them. I can feel my chest constricting when I hear people making snide comments about how graphic novels aren’t “real” books, or how they “don’t count” as reading. As someone whose background is in English education and has worked at a library, I am here to say GRAPHIC NOVELS ARE REAL BOOKS.

That being said, I don’t really enjoy reading graphic novels. The only ones that I have read without wishing that it was laid out as a traditional novel are the DC Comics graphic novels that I have read, and I think that is because superhero stories really lend themselves to the graphic novel format. I just think that the way my brain processes information is not super conducive to graphic novels.

SO I chose to instead highlight some of my favourite picture books. Some of the books on this list are older books, here for sentimental reasons, and some of the books are newer, and are rather hilarious.

In no particular order:

Are You My Mother by P.D. Eastman
A classic tale of a little bird who is on the search for his mother.

Christmas on Exeter Street by Diana Hendry
This 1989 Christmas story explores all the places that you could find beds for all sorts of unexpected houseguests. Might become fairly practical in the coming months… cough cough

Even Aliens Need Snacks by Matthew McElligot
Just what it sounds like. Aliens might look kind of weird, but they still get hungry!

There’s A Lion in My Cornflakes by Michelle Robinson
What if the prize in your cereal box wasn’t a plastic magnifying glass, but a real live lion?

Stuck by Oliver Jeffers
Just exactly how many things can get stuck in a tree?

Froodle by Antoinette Paris
A silly book about silly noises.

Madeline by Ludwig Bemelmans
The classic story of the house that was covered in vines, where there lived 12 little girls in 2 straight lines, the youngest of which was Madeline. (I wanted to get appendicitis when I was a kid so that I could have a scar like Madeline…glad to say not all wishes come true)

Don’t Let The Pigeon Drive The Bus by Mo Willems
Mo Willems imparts some very deep pieces of wisdom that we all would be better off to learn from. Mostly: the pigeon should not be driving the bus.

The Kissing Hand by Audrey Penn
When I was starting kindergarten, our teacher had our parents read us this story, and then draw little hearts on the palms of our hands so that we wouldn’t be sad at school when we were away from our parents. ADORBZZZZ

The Day The Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt
If your crayons could talk, what would they say? More specifically, what would their letters of complaint be?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Picture Books

Leave a Reply

