Top Ten Underrated Books (that I’ve read in the past year or so)

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovelies over at The Broke and the Bookish. You can click through the link if you want to know more, or read other Top Ten Tuesday posts.

This week’s theme is the ten most underrated or underappreciated books that you’ve read in the past year or so. In narrowing down my list, I chose the books that didn’t have as many reviews on Goodreads, or that I haven’t seen people talking about on the internet.

George by Alex Gino
Published August 25, 2015 by Scholastic Press
George really wants to play Charlotte in her class’s production of Charlotte’s Web. But there’s a problem: everyone thinks she’s a boy. But she knows she’s not.
This book is beautifully written, from the point of view of a trans child. George is such a lovely, sweet character, and I grew very attached to her over the course of the book.

The Haters by Jesse Andrews
Published April 5, 2016 by Amulet Books
I already reviewed this road trip novel, but it was such a fun summer read. If you enjoyed Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, check out Jesse Andrews’ second book.

Audrey (cow) by Dan Bar-el
Published November 11, 2014 by Tundra Books
This is a charming book that is written as the oral account of what really happened when Audrey the cow escaped from Bittersweet Farms. I laughed out loud multiple times while reading this book, and I’m forever grateful that I picked it up.

The Land of 10,000 Madonnas by Kate Hattemer
Published April 19, 2016 by Knopf
I already reviewed this novel, which centres on five teens backpacking through Europe to fulfill their friend’s dying wish. This story is told through multiple points of view, and confronts grief in a very real way.

Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times by Emma Trevayne
Published May 13, 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
I already reviewed this middle grade novel, which is an excellent next read for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and The Wizard of Oz.

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke
Published March 22, 2016 by Dial Books
I already reviewed this book, but I honestly think it’s best to go in knowing as little as possible. If you like beautifully odd stories, Wink Poppy Midnight will be right up your alley.

Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong
Published April 8, 2014 by HarperCollins
In this world, twins are rare and sacred, and have a special job. Each set of twins has a Keeper and a Seeker, and each year they must quiet the souls of the dead. Moria and Ashlyn find themselves ambushed by a mysterious evil force, and separated from each other for the first time in their lives. I loved this trilogy from Canadian author Kelley Armstrong.

The Happiness of Pursuit by Chris Guillebeau
Published January 1, 2014 by Harmony
I already reviewed this non-fiction book, and I think it was one of the most inspiring books I read last year. It talks about the mindset of people who go on quests, and what spurs them to not only set out on quests, but push through them even when it gets difficult. So basically, you just read about a whole bunch of people who set out to do the impossible, and it makes you want to go out and do the impossible.

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson
Published September 22, 2015 by Greenwillow Books
I already reviewed this novel, which takes place during the California gold rush, and focuses on Lee, who can sense the gold in the ground. If you enjoy Westerns, or are interested in trying to read a Western, I would definitely give this one a shot.

Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) In Song by Sara Bareilles
Published October 6, 2015 by Simon & Schuster
I already reviewed this collection of personal essays by one of my favourite musicians. Sara Bareilles takes several of her songs, and gives you the context of what led her to write that song. If you like Sara Bareilles’ music, please pick this one up.

One thought on “Top Ten Underrated Books (that I’ve read in the past year or so)

Leave a Reply

