Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham

20170109_101655

Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham
Division 4 and up
Received: Library
Publication Date: November 29, 2016
Publisher: Ballantine Books
5 out of 5 stars

The Blurb:
Lauren Graham, star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood, shares a collection of humorous personal essays reflecting on the journey she took to become an actress, as well as her mindset while she was on the sets of the shows we’ve grown to love so much.

The Nitty-Gritty:
I had so much fun reading this book. Lauren Graham has such a strong voice, and reading her essays really felt like I was just listening to her chat. What I really enjoyed were her refreshingly self-aware moments – when she began giving advice as “Old Lady Jackson”, or when she was recounting her experience as a judge on Project Runway.

While not filled to the brim with spoilers, Lauren Graham did use the Gilmore Girls reboot as an opportunity to reflect on the life of her work as an actress. In order to do this effectively, she kept a diary during the shoot of Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, and there are some mild spoilers. I personally felt that I was able to appreciate the chapter a lot more because I had already watched the four new episodes. You’ve been warned.

Would this book be enjoyable to people who are not fans of Lauren’s work in either Gilmore Girls or Parenthood? I’m not sure. I don’t know why someone would choose to pick up a book of an actor’s memoirs if they weren’t a fan of said actor. Does Lauren do more than just give you fun behind the scenes stories about Gilmore Girls and Parenthood? 100% yes. This book is more than just a memoir of her work on the two shows, but those shows did make up a significant portion of her working life, so it makes sense that there are 3 different chapters in the book dedicated to these shows.

The Verdict:
This book was a light, quick, fun read. I flew through it, which I’m sure had nothing to do with the steady flow of coffee that I felt was necessary to accompany a book written by the woman who brought us Lorelai Gilmore. If you’re a fan of Lauren’s work, I thoroughly recommend this.

4 thoughts on “Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up – Wrecked My Eyes Reading

  2. Pingback: My Ten Favourite Books I’ve Read In One Sitting – Wrecked My Eyes Reading

Leave a Reply

