Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But I Totally Will)

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Broke and Bookish. Click through the link to see other people’s posts, and to find out more about it.

This week’s theme is one where I found it extremely difficult to narrow down my choices: 2016 releases that you meant to read but didn’t get to. Here’s my issue: I used to work at the library. So I was abundantly aware of all of these new books, and I fully take advantage of free access to thousands of books…and I tend to wait until my library gets a copy of a book to read it. Especially if I’ve never read the author before, or if it’s a new series that I haven’t started yet. I also am very lax with my TBR (which is why I never make TBR posts – there’s no way that I could actually plan out what books I’m going to read for a whole month), so that means I tend to miss things.

la-et-crooked-kingdom-20160222

10. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
Published September 27, 2016 by Orion Children’s Books
This one is like a double shame. Why? Because I haven’t read Six of Crows yet, either. I KNOW. YOU DON’T HAVE TO TELL ME. What am I waiting for? Your guess is as good as mine. Probably just the time for me to be able to get completely consumed. Maybe I’ll save this one for my big spring break trip. Is this a good duology to read on a beach? Let me know.

34352-1

9. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Supetys
Published February 2, 2016 by Philomel Books
I actually got this one in from the library, and it is sitting in my room, waiting for when I finally finish re-reading the beast that is Order of the Phoenix. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this book, so I’m very excited to crack it open.

download

8. Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
Published April 26, 2016 by Del Rey
I started this one in October, but it was in audiobook form, and I struggled to get into it. I’m still really intrigued by the plot, and I’ve heard good things about it from people that I trust. I just need to get my hands on a copy that I can read, rather than listen to.

23203252

7. A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess
Published September 20, 2016 by Random House BFYR
First: gorgeous cover. Second: the first female sorcerer, the prophecied one. And she can burst into flames. I’m really looking forward to picking this one up.

18584855

6. Heartless by Marissa Meyer
Published November 8, 2016 by Feiwel and Friends
I absolutely loved the Lunar Chronicles, and I had so much fun reading from Levana’s perspective in Fairest. So I am really excited to see what Marissa Meyer does with the Queen of Hearts before she becomes the Queen of Hearts.

27190613

5. And I Darken by Kiersten White
Published June 28, 2016 by Delacorte Press
When I heard that this was going to be a gender-swapped reimagining of Vlad the Impaler, I got so excited and immediately placed it on hold at the library. But it’s still “on order”. Which means they haven’t got their shipment in yet. So, we may get to the point very soon where I lose my patience and just go out and buy the darn book for myself already.

30253895

4. Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham
Published November 29, 2016 by Ballantine Books
I actually just started this book on Saturday. See? I have good intentions that generally pan out, they just may take a little bit longer than I had originally planned. Hopefully, I’ll enjoy this more than I enjoyed the Gilmore Girls Revival (whoops, I think I spilled some tea, sorry!).

lilac-book-jacket

3. Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly
Published April 5, 2016 by Ballantine Books
OK, this one is really bad. I actually had this one in my possession for three weeks. And I hadn’t started it yet and it was due back at the library so I returned it. And now I’m back at the bottom of the holds list. I JUST DIDN’T HAVE TIME, OK? I misjudged how much reading I was actually going to make it through in the time frame, and I did this to myself.

20983362.jpg

2. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
Published January 5, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion
Time travel and pirates sound like a winning combination to me! This book is about 500 pages long, so I’m biding my time until I have sufficient time to devote to reading it.

91xbhn-1mzl-_ac_ul320_sr212320_

1. The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johnasen
Published November 26, 2016 by Harper
For once in my life, I have a decent excuse for why I haven’t read this yet! My mom has dibs. We both love this series (I think I read it first, but she told me to read it), and she’s currently in the middle of the last installment of this incredible series. I can’t believe this is the last we’ll get of Kelsea!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But I Totally Will)

  1. I have to admit, I was compelled to click on your link via the Broke and Bookish link-up because you also spell your name with one L 🙂

    Great list you have! Heartless was an enjoyable read.. 🙂 I still need to read Six of Crows before I can get to Crooked Kingdom but I’ve heard the series is really good! Lilac Girls I’m definitely aiming to read this year for my Paris Month..

    Michele | TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

