Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

20161219_102052.jpg

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke
Received: Library
Publication Date: March 22, 2016
Publisher: Dial Books
4 out of 5 stars

**Edit: January 18, 2017:
It has been brought to my attention that this book contains the racial slur g*psy in the beginning, and it is never addressed throughout the rest of the book. It is used casually, which is unacceptable. It is important not to gloss over when slurs are used in books, whether casually or with intent.**

The Blurb:
Wink is the odd girl with the wild family that nobody really understands. Poppy is the beautiful yet cruel bully. Midnight is glad to have moved next door to Wink, because with some distance between himself and Poppy, he might finally get over her.

Revenge.
Justice.
Love.
They are the three stories that all other stories are made up of. It’s the trifecta.

The Nitty-Gritty:
I expected a lot of things from this book. I expected the storytelling to be beautiful, and it was. I expected it to be odd, and it was. I expected it to feel separate from reality, and it did. But while this book met many of my expectations, I still feel like this book was nothing like what I had anticipated it to be.

First, this story is told from three points of view. Wink’s, Poppy’s, and Midnight’s. Each of them has a distinct voice, so that was not a problem, and you were warned each time that the perspective was shifting.

Next, and perhaps most importantly, this story takes A TURN. At about halfway through (looking at my Goodreads updates it looks like at 51%) this book shifts from a tale about some delightfully quirky kids in a small town where magic just might exist, and it becomes very dark. Now, I did not expect this. At all. When I looked at Goodreads reviews afterward, there were people describing it as a “thriller”, so maybe I missed the boat on actually understanding what this book was meant to be. But just be warned. If you don’t like dark stuff, maybe give this one a pass.

That being said, I still found it a delightful read. I was enjoying myself the whole time. I mean, there were moments where I was horrified, but I was enjoying being horrified.

Every story needs a Villain. The Villain is just as important as the Hero. More important, maybe.

The Verdict:
Wink Poppy Midnight is filled with compelling characters, who take a turn down a dark path. It takes a look at what makes a good story, and what happens when someone tries to take control of their own story. I thoroughly recommend this novel.

2 thoughts on “Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Underrated Books (that I’ve read in the past year or so) – Wrecked My Eyes Reading

  2. Pingback: If You Liked: Alice In Wonderland – Wrecked My Eyes Reading

Leave a Reply

