How To Climb Mont Blanc In A Skirt (A Handbook For The Lady Adventurer) by Mick Conefrey

Processed with VSCOHow To Climb Mont Blanc In A Skirt (A Handbook for the Lady Adventurer) by Mick Conefrey
Received: Purchased
Publication Date: October 1, 2012
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
4 out of 5 stars

The Blurb:
Let’s hear it for the girls! Sure, you’ve heard of Amelia Earhart, but she is just one part of a long history of female explorers, adventurers, and risk-takers. Chalk full of tips (how to prepare seal skin, benefits of flying, how to make dandelion coffee, how to travel  with difficult men, and more), and accounts of brave and daring women from throughout history, How To Climb Mont Blanc In A Skirt is a fascinating read.

The Nitty Gritty:
I’m not going to lie, this book took me a long time to read. Almost 6 months. That is not a reflection, however, on the quality of the book. This book was a nibbler. It has several short stories, and these stories are separated by packing lists, recipes, tips and tricks, and quotes from different adventurers. Because it is separated in such small sections, I was able to really take my time. And I loved that.

In the last 6 months, I have been introduced to so many women that I want to learn more about. My interest has been piqued, and I have a list of women to research. Rosita Forbes, Freya Stark, Mary Hall, Ella Maillart, Annie Smith Peck, Jeanne de Clisson… I’ve met all sorts of women who I had never met before, but I desperately want to know. And I think that is where the genius of this book lies. Rather than take an in-depth look at one specific person or one type of exploration, you get to sample all sorts of different approaches to exploration – by land, by sea, by air, laid back, detail-oriented, culture-focused, distance-focused – and then you can decide where you want to take your own exploration. It is a starting point. A fascinating starting point.

The Verdict:
I loved How To Climb Mont Blanc in a Skirt. If you’re looking for an interesting, informative read that’s been broken down into bite-sized portions, consider giving this one a space on your coffee table.

Leave a Reply

