To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

20161006_111224To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Division 4 and up
Received: Library
Publication Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
5 out of 5 stars

The Blurb:
Lara Jean has written a letter to every boy she’s ever loved. It’s how she’s gotten over it. She writes the letter, addresses it, and then puts it in a hat box under her bed. She never sends them. Then one day, she realizes that they’ve been mailed. All five of them.

The Nitty-Gritty:
I absolutely loved this book. The Song girls are wonderful. I never had sisters, but I always wanted one, and the Song girls are just what I had imagined when I was wishing for a sister. They love each other and protect each other fiercely. They know just how to hurt each other, and they deeply regret it later.

Lara Jean is quiet and studious. She loves antiques and is idealistic. She is a compelling protagonist, and she endears herself to everyone she comes into contact with — including the reader. You just want to collect her into your arms and hug her until everything works out.

The Verdict:
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is an adorable, contemporary novel. And while the romance is an integral part of the story, the familial love of the Covey family is central to the story. I heartily recommend this book to anyone who is in need of a feel-good story.

2 thoughts on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

    1. I’ve also read The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. And I have to say, I enjoyed To All The Boys a lot more. It might have been a mood thing, but I just fell in love with all of the characters in Lara Jean’s world, and not so much in Belly’s.

      Like

Leave a Reply

