The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet – Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley

The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley
Received: Library
Publication Date: September 29, 2015
Publisher: Touchstone
3/5 stars

 I was very excited about this book. I loved Mary Kate Wiles’ portrayal of Lydia Bennet in The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, and I was so excited to see this team wrap up Lydia’s story. To see what became of her after Hurricane George. And I’m sorry to say, but I was disappointed.

I just found the story dull. It’s hard to care about the story when the protagonist has decided to stop caring. And by the point that Lydia’s personality had reappeared, I had lost my investment in the story. I understand that a coping mechanism for depression and anxiety can be to simply cease all caring. That the world can become an overwhelming place, and to deal with that, sometimes it is easier to just shut everything down – to simply stop. I don’t know if it was because I hadn’t had enough time to be reintroduced to Lydia’s character, or if it was the way that her rock bottom was displayed, but I just couldn’t remain invested in Lydia’s story once she decided to stop investing.

That being said, I loved the final third of the book. I loved the loose ends that were tied, and I loved the ones that were left to fly free. I enjoyed getting to sneak a peek at the lives of some of my favourite characters that I didn’t get as much closure as I would have liked from The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. Unfortunately, it wasn’t enough to make me forget how much I struggled to get through the middle of this book.

I would suggest this book to fans of the Youtube series, who have read The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet, and just can’t get enough of that world. Otherwise, I wouldn’t bother.

Leave a Reply

